How to make back to school easier

Hello again!

 

Ah the back to school blog post. Everyone talking about how this year is going to be the year for change. The year you’ve got to get your priorities straight and start looking towards the future with open eyes.

While thats all good and well, and very nice to read, I often find that most of its not very realistic. I also find that a lot of people, especially parents, don’t understand how stressful, and hard it can be going back to school. People say nonchalantly “oh back to school how terrible” but a lot of the time, it can feel much worse than just not wanting to go back. Personally, i struggle a lot with anxiety about these kinds of things. I find myself the week before I return to school, laying awake in bed, thinking about everything from finding the right classes, to where I’m going to sit in the canteen at lunchtime. It’s a truly horrible feeling, wondering and anticipating the first day back. I know there will be people who don’t mind going back at all reading this going, “wow she’s so dramatic”. Thats fine. This post is for anyone going back to school this year feeling dreadful and in need of a pick-me-up.

 

The best way to face the year with a smile, and a positive attitude is to take care of yourself. Make yourself happy. Don’t sit around and mope about how awful school is going to be, and feel bad for yourself. Get up, and try to cheer yourself up.
My absolute favourite way to do this, is by treating myself to some new “back to school supplies”.

 

I’m not talking pencils and copybooks.
No I mean things that you’ll use everyday when you go back to school.
Heres some things that I buy myself every year.

 

. A new Foundation/BB cream/any face makeup that you’re going to wear most days (if you’re like me) and you can wake up in the morning and enjoy applying. Find one that you really like, and waking up to do your makeup will seem so much nicer.
IMG_2075.jpg

 

. A new perfume. This one is really relevant. No matter what kind of human you are. Man, woman or child, everyone likes someone that smells good. Theres honestly nothing better than sitting beside someone in class who smells delicious (and nothing worse than sitting beside someone who doesn’t). Perfume doesn’t have to be expensive. You can buy a cheap one in Boots or any other pharmacy and it will probably last you the whole year. Last year I bought Beyonce’s Wild Orchid perfume and it smelled so insanely good that putting it on every morning became my favourite part of my morning. Plus, its always bonus when someone at school tells you you smell good.
IMG_2074.jpg

 

. Some good new music. If anyone knows me, they know that my absolute favourite thing is music. It has helped me through every problem I’ve ever had. I have a passion for finding music that I love. New music, old music, whatever it is, it’s in a playlist on my laptop. I find personally, that making playlists to suit my moods makes me feel a lot better. So for example, if you find you’re stressed over going back to school, make yourself a playlist you can relax to. Include some calming music, or any kind of music you enjoy. Make another playlist you can listen to in the morning before school, that’ll get you motivated and pumped for the day. Make another for after school, another to listen to while you exercise, or draw or paint, or any other hobby you enjoy.
I always say, you should never underestimate the power of music, and what it can do for your mood.
IMG_2078.jpg
While going back to school is clearly the worst time of year for any teenager, I can’t deny that my absolute favourite season is autumn. I love it. The leaves changing colour, the warmth of the fire in the evenings, cups of tea, halloween. There will most definitely be a blogpost to come about Autumn and why it should be everyones favourite season.

 

. One of the nicest things to do when you’re having a shit day, not only in Autumn but all year round, is run yourself a bath. It automatically soothes your mind. It eases your tense muscles, calms your mood, gives you that lovely warm, safe feeling. Baths can be made SO much better with the help of a bath bomb. My personal favourites are from Lush, the holy grail of all bath products.
While bath bombs from lush are my favourite thing, I recently indulged myself and bought the Mask of Magnaminty face mask and the Melting Marshmallow Moment bath oil. I’m excited to try both.
IMG_2076.jpg

 

There you have it! Some simple but wildly effective ways to make going back to school easier. If you enjoyed this post or it helped you in any way, leave a comment below! I’d love to hear what you thought.
Until next time,
signing off,
alana.
2 thoughts on “How to make back to school easier

Leave a Reply

