How to: Take care of your hair

Hello!

How is all of your Autumn season going? Good I hope!
Today I thought I’d maybe do a little guide on how to take care of your hair properly.
I’ve got incredibly thick hair and I’ve been adding blonde highlights to my naturally mousy brown hair since I was about 14. These two things combined can lead to the ends becoming quite dry and frizzy at times.
In this post I thought I’d give you some tips on how I take care of my hair.

 

Don’t over wash!

I usually wash my hair 3-4 times a week. Usually on a Sunday night (before school on Monday), a Tuesday, a Thursday and again on a Friday if I really need to, or I’m going out and I want freshly washed hair. So basically to shorten that, every other day lol.
Washing your hair too much can actually do the opposite to good, and dry it out.

 

Don’t over heat!

I tend to stay away from hairdryers and straightners most days. My hair is naturally wavy and sometimes frizzy so I don’t blow-dry it. I prefer to let it dry itself. As for straighteners and curlers etc, overuse of these do damage to your hair, so do your hair a favour and take a break! If you’re likely to use a straightener every day, give it a rest and try to use it maybe twice or 3 times a week tops.

Coconut oil.

A lifesaver. I will get to the other oil i use in a moment but for now, coconut oil is the bomb. After hearing all the raving about it I decided to go out and pick up a tub myself. I admittedly was skeptical putting such a thick, oily substance in my hair, thinking it was definitely going to weigh it down and make it greasy but it didn’t!
The oil practically melts on your hands so I basically just take a good blob of it and work it through my dry hair, from about the middle section to the ends. Stay away from the roots to avoid looking greasy. Leave the oil on for as long as you want, I find the longer the better.
Then just wash it out in the shower! It made my hair feel amazing.

If you needed another reason, coconut oil is usually only about €3 and lasts months.

Argan oil.

This helps with the frizzys. Just run a tiny bit thorough the ends of your hair after you wash it and it tames the frizz every time.

 

Regular trims

It’s a good idea to have your hair trimmed by a hairdresser about every 3 months or so. I personally suffer from that “i don’t want to go to the hairdresser because I want to keep my hair long” syndrome that so many of us do. However, i’ve learned that having your hair trimmed regularly can actually help it grow much faster! Who would’ve thought.

 

Eat Healthily

This one, although it sounds irrelevant, is super important. Eating properly is crucial to give your hair the right amount of vitamins it needs to grow and be strong. Eat a balanced diet and include lots of Vitamin C, which strengthens hair. Vitamin C can be found in fresh fruit like oranges and other citrus fruits like grapefruits or lemons.

7 thoughts on “How to: Take care of your hair

  1. Great advice! I barely use heat because I just let my hair dry naturally (I use a hair turban) and I have naturally straight hair so I don’t need to straighten it although I used to blow dry my hair but stopped since I found of that it could damage it 😽

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

