Netflix shows you NEED to watch

Coming into the colder seasons of Autumn/Winter, I know that if theres one thing to do on long dark evenings, it’s find a really great TV show. I decided to list a few of my favourite shows to maybe give you some inspiration for new TV material and let you know what I thought. So enjoy!

 

1. Breaking Bad

Probably my favourite show of all time. My dad actually put me onto it about a year ago and after one episode I knew I had been late to the party once again. I was hooked! I absolutely adore this show. It has everything you want from a series. No shortage of drama, crime, family stuff, love, loss and incredible characters you fall in and out of love with. I recommend this to anyone at all, although there are some violent scenes so if you’re very young or don’t like that sort of thing, maybe not for you.

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.04.30.png

 

2. How to get away with murder

This show is amazing, There are currently 3 seasons, but only one is available on Irish Netflix so I’ve been watching on another website. Viola Davis and all the rest of the actors on this show are just fantastic and the plot never gets boring.
Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.06.44.png

 

3. American Horror Story
I’m a massive fan of scary things. I adore Halloween and horror movies and scaring myself. American Horror Story has been one of my favourite shows for the last few years and this most recent season is slowly becoming one of my favourites so far. I would have to give season 4, Freakshow, my number one spot as its just insane to watch. This show has made Sara Paulson, one of my favourite actresses. Plus Evan Peters is gorgeous which is a hell of a bonus.

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.08.31.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.11.03.png

4. Orange is the new black

Like probably everyone on the planet, I’ve watched and loved this show since the beginning. The character development in this show keeps you coming back and I could write a full blogpost on the final episode of this season (not spoiling anything for those of you who live under a rock and HAVEN’T seen it (lol just kidding)). It’s funny, it’s dramatic, it deals with serious issues that most shows wouldn’t dare tackle, and it shows women in a true, pure, raw and non sugar coated light. Props to you, creators of this show. Serious props. But we NEED to talk about that season finale because I have WORDS to say to you.

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.12.24.png

5. Gossip Girl

This show is just a classic. Thank God Netflix has the entire series, as I find myself every now and then going back to watch an episode or two. Gossip Girl pretty much has everything, fashion, hot guys, family drama and New York city. If you like light hearted TV watching I highly recommend.

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.06.08.png

 

6. Pretty little liars
Again, if you’re into drama TV with teenagers being the main characters, you will love this show. Pretty Little Liars is definitely heavier than Gossip Girl, being that a lot of it is based around murder and being stalked. It’s just a really great show and keeps you interested all the time. It’s ending soon and I am devastated to say the least.

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.13.10.png

7. Jane the virgin
I really liked this show! I think i watched the full first season in about a week. I adore Gina Rodriguez who plays Jane, the main character. She’s hilarious and the show is so funny. If you like light hearted funny TV this is for you.

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.05.31.png

8. Stranger Things
This one is obvious if you’re a frequent reader of my blogposts because I already did a full post about why it was the show of the year. I absolutely love this show. Everything about it. The actors are incredible, the plot is so intriguing, To read more reasons click here
Screen Shot 2016-09-04 at 01.01.58

 

9. Skins
I started this show under the order of my friend, at the start of the summer and it became my summer show. I finished all the seasons (although seasons 1&2 were my favourite). This is an english show and is basically just a mess of teenagers having sex, doing drugs and getting into trouble. I fell in love with one particular character, Effy Stonem, who is the misunderstood quiet girl with a bad streak. I love Skins. If you’re looking for something that’ll give you a proper insight into teenagers lives, without it being glamourised by designer fashion and americanised television, this is the one.
Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.03.54.png
10. Full House

Probably the opposite to Skins, but Full House is just one of those warm, sugary sweet adorable family shows that always makes you feel good. I’ve watched Full House since I was little and it being on Netflix is a blessing as I always find myself going back to it when I want to reminisce or just watch something really light hearted and cute.

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 12.29.36.png

 

Well that’s it from me! 10 Netflix shows for you to start binging when the weather gets cold and the evenings get longer. If you have seen any of these shows, or are planning to go watch them after reading this, please let me know in the comments. Happy Sunday!

Signing off,

alana x

14 thoughts on “Netflix shows you NEED to watch

Leave a Reply

