My book collection and reviews

There’s nothing more relaxing than opening a really good book, and diving into it, letting it take over you brain (and your time) for a while. I have always loved reading since I was a little girl. Every Christmas my dad buys me 3 new books and encourages us to read as much as possible. I think my love of writing stemmed from there. As you can imagine, over many years of reading, I have collected quite a large number of books. I like reading all sorts of things, and have a very wide variety of books from thrillers to soppy love story books.
Pictured here is the line up of books I currently have on my bookshelf, that have been there for a while, as I go back to them regularly, to read a few pages, or review the things I have underlined. Do you do that too? I always have a pen or pencil with me when I’m reading, as I like to underline the things I find interesting.
I thought, for all the book lovers, or for those of you who don’t read very often, but are looking for some book inspiration, I would give a little review of some of my current faves.

Girl, interrupted.

 

I’m usually anti-book-to-movie nonsense, as it more often than not, ruins the image i created in my head of the characters. However, I admittedly watched this movie before I read the book and its one of my favourite movies. It follows a girl, the author of the book, Susanna Kaysen, through a difficult time of change in the late 60’s, as she struggles with mental disorders and lack of direction in her life. I loved this story so much, that I bought the book and loved that too.
There are heavier topics in this book, so if you don’t like things like that, it may not be for you.
IMG_0075.jpg

 

Bluets, by Maggie Nelson

 

I bought this book over the summer and was not at all expecting the book I got. It’s written in a kind of list format, and is all about the association the author’s life has, with the colour blue. She gives reasons, and situations in which she feels deeply connected to the colour. It’s easier to read it, than to explain it but it’s definitely worth the read.
IMG_0074.jpg

Looking for Alaska

 

As you can probably tell from the picture, I am a big fan of John Greens books. I’ve read all of them and can say confidently that Looking for Alaska was my favourite. This is one particular book that I would not want to see as a movie. I enjoyed creating the characters and their surroundings in my imagination. This story, follows Miles (or Pugde) as he enrolls at a boarding school and befriends some interesting characters, The Colonel, Takumi and Alaska, a beautifully unstable hurricane of a girl. To say any more would ruin the genius and the tragedy of this book. All I’m saying is read it, and you’ll know what I mean.

 

The Perks of being a wallflower

 

I feel a certain connection to this book, as I read it first when I was 15, the same age as Charlie is in this book, and was going through a rough time, as Charlie also was in this book. It breaks my heart a little bit to read this book, as each time I gain a new perspective, I see a new angle to it that I didn’t before. It’s the perfect view of teenage life, unglamourized, unromaticised and in its truest, provocative, raw and earth shattering form. I connected so personally with this book because it’s written, not like an adult looking back on their youth, but as a teenager, living in it. I think everyone should read this book, and appreciate it’s magic.

The Harry Potter Series

 

There’s something about Harry Potter that warms my heart. I read my first Harry Potter book when I was about 10 and ever since I’ve read all the books, seen all the movies and loved every second of both. There’s just something so magical (pardon the pun) about Harry Potter books, that makes you feel comfortable and relaxed. It always somehow reminds me of Christmas, although I’m not sure why. Yes the books are based around adolsecent wizards and the things they get up to, but theres so much more to these stories. Lessons like the power of friendship and the strength of family bonds. I love Harry Potter and will go to my grave saying everyone should read these books.
IMG_0076.jpg
3 thoughts on “My book collection and reviews

Leave a Reply

