Things I learned in 2016…

2016 was a year that was both really shit and really important at the same time.

Earlier this year, when I was moaning about not having the glamorous summer that all my friends seemed to be having, my friend said this to me;
“Maybe this summer wasn’t what you wanted, but maybe it was what you needed”.
I think the same goes for 2016. While I look back on it and see the negatives, the lack of progression and the rocky moments, I have to remind myself that everything happens for a reason, and while right now the reason might not be clear, it will be eventually.
In 2016, I learned a lot of things.

 

1. Not everyone is your friend
Having friends is an amazing thing. Especially when you have friends that you’re as close to as I am with my best friends. I don’t know who I am without them in my life. I think because I trust them so much, it’s hard for me to believe that anyone else is anything other than completely genuine. This year taught me that sometimes, people are fake, and aren’t nice and theres not really anything you can do about it except move on.

2. How to survive in a workplace
I got my first job this year, as a waitress in a local restaurant. It was one of the scariest things I’ve ever done walking in there on my first day. But I did it and I’m proud of myself for that. Surviving as a young person in a workplace environment can be hard. Everyone seems so much older and more experienced than you. The confidence needed to succeed really just comes with time. Everything is trial and error and its okay to mess up.

 

3. The value of money

I worked in the restaurant for most of the summer and earned a steady wage every weekend. When I stopped working there, the lack of cash flow was devastating. I still miss the money that I used to have, which has made me even better at money management and finding bargains.

 

 

4. That comfort zones sometimes need to be stepped over
I did a lot of things this year that put me way outside my comfort zone. Some of the things, I wouldn’t have dreamed of doing the year before, but they ended up being the things I remember the most.

 

5. That hard work pays off

Putting in work at things that you really want to succeed with, does pay off. Who woulda thought???

 

6. You can wear WHATEVER you like
I love fashion so much. It’s something I’ve always found comfort in. But for a lot of my life, I’ve had the mindset a lot of girls do, that I “can’t” wear a certain outfit or piece of clothing because my body isn’t right for it. I’ve got a very small frame, and often look too short and lost in many items that I love. I was so tired of hearing my friends say, “oh i could never wear that!”. So I started reminding myself, that fashion has no rules. You can wear whatever you like. I promise, if you start doing this tomorrow, you will feel so much better about whatever you wear.

 

7. Appreciate the little things
This is a lesson we all need, every now and then. In 2016, I did this a lot. Whether it’s a song, a really soft jumper, a phone call from a friend, a movie, a new TV show, a blog WHATEVER. Find little things that make you happy.

 

8. Blogging is as fun as it looks
I started my blog in late August and I remember how terrified I was to click “create blog”. I don’t know what scared me so much. I didn’t make a blog, so everyone would read it. I’ve actually only told one person in my real life about this blog. I made the blog so I would have somewhere to write about things I love. Somewhere to invest my time and energy. Making my blog was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I know it’s not some big blog with loads of followers, but it’s mine and I love it and I appreciate every like, follow and comment more than I can explain.

 

9. Sometimes you need to drink tea and watch gossip girl and other times you need to do tequila shots with your best friend. Its all about balance.

 

10. To start looking at my mistakes as lessons and start living the kind of life I want to live.

 

To recap on point 8, I never did get to thank you before new years, for an amazing few months. alanathropology has been my secret little corner of the internet for nearly 5 months. That baffles me as it feels like only yesterday I did my first blogpost (although I had no clue what I was doing). Thank you so much for always saying such sweet things and liking all my posts. I feel like 2017 is going to be a good year for blogging. Happy new year!

 

 

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-19-52-45

10 thoughts on “Things I learned in 2016…

  1. What an inspiring post, thanks for sharing! & Happy 2017 🙂
    I found your little space in the community pool, so glad I did!! amazing write up!!!keep writing and inspire us. Surely I will be waiting for more 🙂
    Please do visit my blog when time permits, thanks in advance and see you there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

