Youtube Made Me Buy It

IMG_0890.JPG

 

Nearly every beauty product I buy, is something I saw being used in a youtube video and liked the look of it, or i saw some beauty blogger rave about it.

There’s nothing at all wrong with that! Reading about things online is a great way to make sure you don’t spend your money on something stupid.
However, when a product is being used, by a famous youtuber, under the right lighting with a catchy title and 1 million comments saying how great it is, it will always look better than it actually is. Among the MANY fantastic products I’ve bought because of youtube, I can admit that I’ve been convinced to buy items that i didn’t need because youtube made them so darn beautiful.

 

Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer

It seems to me that everyone and their sister uses this concealer to hide under-eye circles. I bought this about 6 months ago, and while I like it, I much prefer my cheaper and honestly, better coverage, Collection Lasting Perfection concealer. It is a good concealer, but i sometimes feel it gives me an orangey tone, does anyone else have that problem?

 

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

This one I am 100% happy with. Again nearly every single youtuber uses this mascara and I was coaxed into buying it. I’m so glad I did though because it is my absolute favourite. It’s just amazing and my lashes triple in size and darkness when I’ve got this on. Perfection.

 

Loreal Infallible Foundation

This is one I saw on Instagram a lot. The coverage looked incredible in the videos that I saw so I decided to give in and purchase it. It’s a reasonable price and a nice foundation for school and light-makeup days, but it’s definitely not high coverage. On top of it not being high enough coverage, I think the colour I bought was too light for me (but that one is my fault).

 

Morphe 35T palette

Morphe palettes are all the rage at the minute, with everyone fawning over their insane pigmentation and gorgeous colours. I was drooling over the 350 palette, for a long time and when I finally decided to buy it, it was out of stock. In a moment of pure impulse shopping, I decided to get the 35T instead. And I am in love with it. Seriously, I highly recommend this palette and all the other morphe palettes, they’re amazing.

 

Collection Loose Transluscent Powder

Have you heard of ‘baking’? No not the kind where you make cookies or cakes. Baking is a new trend of putting excess loose powder over your foundation to set it to the degree that it will not crease or budge for hours. Of course like every other trend I was roped into this one, but instead of splurging on the Laura Mercier powder that every. single. person. uses, I got the collection loose powder. It actually works quite well, and I especially like it for under my eyes as the concealer there creases a lot.

Is there any products you’ve bought because Youtube convinced you that you just need it? Let me know below

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-19-52-45
22 thoughts on “Youtube Made Me Buy It

  1. With the Maybelline foundations I also find that it gives off orangey undertones as well that’s why I usually try and stay away from their foundations and concealers. Though I haven’t actually tried any of their concealers.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You tube is the devil for the bank balance! Especially when you watch a fair few American youtubers as tracking down some of their products can be a little expensive 😂 It taken me a while to hunt down the physicians formula butter bronzer! It’s amazing I highly recommend! 💕

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

